Gooooooin’ to the chapel and we’re gooooooona get married…

Wednesday, 25 May 2011 § 3 Comments

That song was the first song I ever learned to sing in harmony.  My best friend from high school and I walked around singing the chorus.  She was actually a singer — a ridiculously talented one — and she instructed me to just stick to the basic melody and she’d take care of the rest.

Anyhow, where was I?

Ah, right: weddings!  This epic cake!

The second-to-last layer of the last tier is in the oven right now.  I have learned some lessons along the way, including but not limited to:

(1)  Do your shopping at Costco.  Seriously.  Just do it.  And get the 7.5 dozen egg flat, because you will end up needing them all, even though you only have 5 dozen on your list.

Needs more nuts. (No, seriously, I did, and do you have any idea how hard it is to find blanched hazlenuts down here?!)

(2) Don’t bake while sleep-deprived.  Like that time when I had spent about a week getting around four hours of sleep a night, culminating in an overnight train voyage (tip: better living through chemistry), and then started baking the first tier around 11 pm.  And then put the second layer of that tier in the oven around 12:45, meant to bake it for about an hour, settled in to watch “My Strange Addiction” while it was in the oven, and woke up at 2:30 to the smell of burning cake.  And of course it was the layer with the most expensive ingredients (see above: needing more nuts).  So yeah, don’t bake while sleep-deprived.  Because re-making half a tier’s worth of batter?  Not fun, and not cheap.

(3) Know the volume of your stand mixer.  It was a foregone conclusion that the bottom tier (30 cups of batter for 3 12″ square layers) would not fit in my mixer.  I thought the second layer (19 cups) would.  I was wrong.

Lemon poppyseed: Is good for you.

(3) Supreming lemons will always hurt.  Always.

Ow. (And you should see the twin cuts on the tip of my index finger!)

More lessons to come, including shots of the baked tiers, and maybe even shots from my natal village (highlights: the civil war room in my mom’s house; the Robert E. Lee license plates).  Also, not that y’all can help me with this directly, but: I couldn’t decide which dress to wear, and so I brought literally every single party dress [that isn’t black] I own and figured I’d make the decision here.  The contenders: cream and black that I wore to my cousin’s wedding last autumn; blue strapless that I wore to my mom’s wedding 4 years ago; white with embroidered flowers and ridiculously girly (maybe even too girly?); and floral print. What’s a girl to do??  Is it wrong to wear white to another woman’s wedding [her dress is gold-ish]?  Is it even more wrong to reprise a dress you’ve already worn to a [family] wedding?  Thoughts?

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Gooooooin’ to the chapel and we’re gooooooona get married…

  • Eileen says:

    A. Wow.

    B. Wow.

    C. Wear something comfortable, since it sounds like you’re doing a lot of work before the wedding, so you should have something comfy to wear during. Also, I would be getting smashed at said wedding after doing this much work, so I would wear something that didn’t stain easily.

  • brokeknits says:

    I believe “epic” would be the best word to describe this cake odyssey. As for the dress, I agree with Eileen: plan for comfort and maximum stain-resistance.

  • a.b. says:

    Just to note: I have never heard of “supreming” but it’s now my favorite kitchen word.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gooooooin’ to the chapel and we’re gooooooona get married… at Em-dash of salt.

meta

